The background is a dim photo of a city at night with the silhouette of a woman standing to the right. The author and title go down the centre in red and white capital letters.

The Country Girls Trilogy

  • €11,90
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

'The Country Girls is not the novel that broke the mould, it is the one that made it' - Eimear McBride

Edna O'Brien's first novel The Country Girls and its sequels The Lonely Girl and Girls in their Married Bliss changed the temperature of Irish literature in the 1960s. The characters of Kate Brady and her friend Baba Brennan have inspired generation after generation of readers and writers, as we see them struggling against the confines of a rural Irish convent school; reveling in the bright lights of Dublin; and weathering the unexpected challenges of married life in London.

The passion, artistry, and courage of Edna O’Brien’s vision in these novels - tender portraits of innocence and youth, love and passion, dreams and reality - resonate into the twenty-first century, and are illuminated by Eimear McBride's new foreword.

The Country Girls Trilogy has been chosen for Dublin: One City, One Book 2019. For full details please visit the official website.


Author: Edna O'Brien

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Faber and Faber

ISBN: 9780571330539

We Also Recommend